Essential Oils: The Differences Between Pure and Oil Blends

Capture+_2017-03-29-17-05-12-1Okay, so that I’m not being confusing, because I do know that there are plenty of essentials that are in fact blends of other essential oils and they are 100% pure oils. But, then you have the essential oils that are a 20% essential oil blend…which is 20% of an essential oil and the rest is made up of a carrier oil. So, since I’m loving essential oils now and in the past I’ve used the oils for DIY hair and beauty purposes, but I now realize they are perfect for natural home fragrance and they also have health benefits as well, I buy them more for natural home fragrance and health.

I’ve been wanting to try frankincense essential oil for a while now, but it’s one of the more expensive essential oils and, I’m not sure if the fragrance would be to my liking. I didn’t want to waste money buying an expensive essential oil, I may not like and I decided to shop around for a better price. Then searching online I found a bottle by NOW essential oils in the frankincense scent and it was responsibly priced. I figured if, I didn’t like the smell it wouldn’t be a total loss. I decided to order the oil to try it out. To my surprise it didn’t have much of a scent and then I realized that it was only made up of 20% frankincense essential oil and the reason was grapessed oil.

Naturally I was disappointed, because I wanted to use it as a home fragrance oil. Knowing that grapessed oil is a heavier oil that doesn’t have a scent either, I knew it wouldn’t work well in my diffusers. So, I decided to research the blend I had wrongly purchased to see if, I could still use it for another purpose. To my surprise I learned that frankincense essential oil is also beneficial for the hair and skin. And since the oil is already pre-mixed and measured it’s perfect to use as a hair and beauty oil. I read that frankincense essential oil is great for bruises, hair loss, dark circles, acne, lightening dark spots and cuts/scrapes just to name a few. Then from prior knowledge I’m already aware of the great benefits of grapessed oil for moisturizing both the hair and skin, so actually my ordering the wrong oil turned out to be a not so bad choice after all.

I decided to write this blog, so that others would know that essential oils come in many forms and depending on your reason for wanting and using the oils…be sure to know which blends you will be purchasing. Carrier oil blends won’t work well using them in oil diffusers. The heavy carrier oil will clog the diffuser unit. You’re not trying to damage your diffusers and for that reason alone only 100% pure essential oils should be used in the diffusers instead. 20% oil blend essential oils are great for beauty remedies for hair and skin. Because, 100% pure essential oils should never be applied directly to the skin. Always use a carrier oil when using 100% pure essential oils for beauty purposes. Carrier oils used for beauty remedies can be grapeseed, apricot oil, almond oil etc… Here’s the blend I ordered.Capture+_2017-03-29-17-05-42-1Capture+_2017-03-29-16-01-27-1

Just thought I’d share the differences between the two types of oil blends, so that those who are new to essential oils would know exactly what it is they’ll need. As always research to learn more and to see what would be the best fit for you. If you felt this blog was helpful please feel free to share it with family and friends. I’m also on IG @healthytipsbytee and you can follow me there for other helpful health and beauty tips too. Thanks for stopping by and feel free to follow me on here as well. Until next time…

Author: HealthyTipsbyTee

Hello, My name is Tamira and I would like for you to enjoy my blog as I share healthy living tips that's working for me. As we embark upon a new date it's the perfect time to put more focus on ourselves not only for us, but for our families as well...you can't pour from an empty cup! Over the past several years, I've become extremely conscious about the products I use in all aspects of my life from which laundry detergents to buy...all the way to the nail polish I use, and what foods I consume. As you can imagine there are many things in between this broad spectrum and I would like to share all of these life changing tips with you. As you visit my blog expect to learn of natural remedies for beauty, health and house keeping tips. To me, being healthy consist of a variety of things and eating healthy is very important as well...for beauty begins on the inside, so you can definitely expect me to touch basis on that also. Now, as we start our new journey on health and wellness together I would like to take the time and pleasure of welcoming you to my blog "Healthy Tips by Tamira". This will be the perfect time to start over for a new beautiful beginning and a new you!

Leave a Reply

