Whole Food Multivitamins vs. Synthetic Commerical Brands…

Capture+_2017-03-22-08-32-11-1As I’ve mentioned before, I take multivitamins daily. I know that it’s said that with proper nutrition a multivitamin isn’t needed, but with the busy lifestyles of today…who’s truly getting all of their nutrition from just eating food alone? Probably not many of us. The fact is life happens daily. With all these fast placed lifestyles and then all of these fast-food restaurants it probably hard for most to get daily what’s looked at as being proper nutrition.I do try my best to stay as healthy as possible, so adding a food based…non synthetic multivitamin to my daily regimen helps to keep me going all while accommodating my hectic lifestyle. Now, I know many of you are probably thinking…what’s a synthetic vitamin? Well a synthetic vitamin is not totally made up solely of the nutritional requirements or daily value that many believe they are getting. It’s weird that I still remember this, but I remember reading somewhere years ago how to test the quality of your multivitamins and after that, I did the test it amazed me.

So, basically the test was conducted by taking two glasses of water and then dropping one multivitamin in the glass that was a food based vitamin, and in the other glass dropping the popular commercial brand vitamin in the other glass. Now here was the test…you have to watch and see how long and easily each vitamin starts to breakdown and dissolve in each glass. If it’s a synthetic based vitamin it will take longer for  it to dissolve in the glass. Meaning it will take the body longer to absorb the supposed nutrients that the vitamin contains as well. Now, if the second multivitamin was a fruit and veggie food based multivitamin then once it’s dropped in the water it should begin to dissolve and break down immediately. Again, I read about this test years ago and although I was much younger, I’ve always been concerned and/or picky about the way I ate and just my overall health.

So, naturally I was unaware of what a “food based” vitamin was at that time. And yes I would use the popular commercial brand regularly. I decided to try the test and not having a food based multivitamin on hand, I just dropped the vitamin I had on hand in the glass of water and waited to see what would happen next. Well…I waited and waited a little longer until I realized that my vitamin wasn’t going to dissolve anytime soon. So, I remember thinking that I take these daily and if it takes this long to dissolve in the water…how long does it take to dissolve in my body before it’s removed??? Naturally I though how much of its nutrients am I truly benefiting from? So, still much younger then and not knowing as much as I feel, I know now. I went to my local drug store (which of course I don’t get my vitamins from there now) and looked for a multivitamin that was food based. I decided to try the Alive brand multivitamin, because it seemed to be more food based than that current one I was using. I would say that brand turned out to be much better than the previous one I used.

Although over the years my vitamin intake game is stronger now. I have done so much research on so many things, so now I truly understand what’s good and not good for my body. I listen as well as pay close attention to what my body is saying to me also. As I’ve mentioned in a previous blog post that our hair speaks to us saying the products it likes and dislikes. Well your body does the same, but you must listen and play attention to it. After hours of the synthetic vitamin being in the glass…it barely dissolved and broke down, but with the food based one I tried there was an immediate difference within the two and how well it dissolved. So, then I thought how much better this would be for my body. I didn’t want to pay for vitamins that only dissolved 20% in my body…what would be the true benefit? I’ve since then changed my multivitamin brand to a different food based company I trust.

I also changed brands to accommodate by lifestyle for now. If you follow me on IG you know the brand that, I currently use. I feel comfortable knowing that it’s made with fruits and vegetables in addition to me getting the recommended daily vitamin allowance. If you’re an individual who’s not a big fan of eating fruits and vegetables…then a food based vitamin is much better than a synthetic one. I even buy the same brand for my son, because they make an  active teen formula and he’s an active athletic teen who does not like veggies at all. He will eat certain fruits, but at least I feel comfortable knowing that he’s getting some of what he needs daily. So, as always we my blogging it’s suggested to do your own research first. I only write about my own experiences and I don’t claim to be an expert on anything. I just know what has been working for me. And again…I research things a lot. Guess grad school taught me that. To always research the researcher. I hope this blog will help you to think differently about certain commercial brand items. As always feel free to leave a comment and to share this blog with friends and family. Also, you can follow me on IG @healthytipsbytee for more hopefully tips by me. Until next time…

Author: HealthyTipsbyTee

Hello, My name is Tamira and I would like for you to enjoy my blog as I share healthy living tips that's working for me. As we embark upon a new date it's the perfect time to put more focus on ourselves not only for us, but for our families as well...you can't pour from an empty cup! Over the past several years, I've become extremely conscious about the products I use in all aspects of my life from which laundry detergents to buy...all the way to the nail polish I use, and what foods I consume. As you can imagine there are many things in between this broad spectrum and I would like to share all of these life changing tips with you. As you visit my blog expect to learn of natural remedies for beauty, health and house keeping tips. To me, being healthy consist of a variety of things and eating healthy is very important as well...for beauty begins on the inside, so you can definitely expect me to touch basis on that also. Now, as we start our new journey on health and wellness together I would like to take the time and pleasure of welcoming you to my blog "Healthy Tips by Tamira". This will be the perfect time to start over for a new beautiful beginning and a new you!

Leave a Reply

