Naturally Whiten Teeth and Freshen Bad Breathe: Seasame Oil Pulling

capture_2017-02-28-11-17-18-1Oil Pulling what is that? Well, many of you may already know what oil pulling is and the benefits associated with doing this, but for others I will share the purpose and why it’s a great added benefit to your natural care routine. You’re probably wondering what oil pulling is and where it comes from…it dates back to ancient times as an Ayurvedic medicine practice that was used for oral detoxification not only for the mouth, but the body as well, it helps with preventing gum disease by strengthening them, preventing plaque and tarter build-up and with all of those benefits mentioned above it helps to naturally whiten teeth too. Well how does that freshen your breathe? Since the overall benefit of oil pulling is to detox the mouth the tongue which holds a lot of germs and bacteria gets cleanse during this detox process. So, while the oil is working hard to do it’s job the tongue is benefiting, because germs and bacteria gets removed from it and that’s a big part of bad breathe.

If you follow my IG page…then you already know that, I am definitely a fan of “all things natural”, so giving oil pulling a try was a must for me. Especially, because most of the oils that I will list are common household staples and they are inexpensive. Now, from the different research that I’ve done regarding oil pulling after watching one of my favorite YouTube videos on holistic health, I learned that other oils are used for this method as well. You can use oils like sunflower, coconut, olive, and even palm. When I first started oil pilling which was over a couple years ago, I used the sesame oil, but since that time other oils like coconut has been incorporated into my regimen. I would suggest after you research to see if oil pulling is something that would benefit you, then at that time select the appropriate oil to pull with. Remembering that it does not have to be an expensive oil and many of these oils can be purchased right at your local grocery store. Now, since I’ve given you some background knowledge as to why, I decided to use the oil pilling method down below, I will list what you need to use and the oil pulling progress.

What You Will Need

  •  The oil of your choice (use the oil you have on hand) I currently use coconut oil
  • Tablespoon
  • Sea Salt
  • Toothpaste
  • Toothbrush
  • Cup

The Oil Pulling Method 

  • First take a couple tablespoon of your selected oil (if you’re using coconut oil  depending on the weather it might be solid, but that’s okay it will melt in your mouth)
  • Now start swishing the oil around in your mouth back and fourth side to side and do this for at about 30 minutes. I know that’s a long time to have oil in your mouth and if this is your first time hang in there you can do it! Remember NOT to swallow the oil that’s in your mouth, because it’s detoxing the germs from your mouth and you don’t want to swallow what you’re trying to pull out.
  • After the 30 minutes are up while running hot water in the sink, spit the oil out, and then take your cup filled with warm water and add a half of teaspoon of the sea salt to the warm water to use as your gargling solution. The sea salt just helps to remove any extra toxins before you begin to brush your teeth. Gargle for about a minute or two and then proceed to brushing your teeth. That’s it! You should experience a nice fresh mouth afterwards.

And that is all there is to oil pulling! I would suggest to do this for a week and here’s a tip…while you’re in the shower is a great time to oil pull. After a week or so start the process over until you feel that your mouth is in a healthier state. As always I hope that this blog was helpful and that this method works for you. If you found this blog helpful feel free to share it family and friends and also follow me on IG for more helpful tips @healthytipsbytee. Thanks for stopping by and until next time…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: HealthyTipsbyTee

Hello, My name is Tamira and I would like for you to enjoy my blog as I share healthy living tips that's working for me. As we embark upon a new date it's the perfect time to put more focus on ourselves not only for us, but for our families as well...you can't pour from an empty cup! Over the past several years, I've become extremely conscious about the products I use in all aspects of my life from which laundry detergents to buy...all the way to the nail polish I use, and what foods I consume. As you can imagine there are many things in between this broad spectrum and I would like to share all of these life changing tips with you. As you visit my blog expect to learn of natural remedies for beauty, health and house keeping tips. To me, being healthy consist of a variety of things and eating healthy is very important as well...for beauty begins on the inside, so you can definitely expect me to touch basis on that also. Now, as we start our new journey on health and wellness together I would like to take the time and pleasure of welcoming you to my blog "Healthy Tips by Tamira". This will be the perfect time to start over for a new beautiful beginning and a new you!

Leave a Reply

