Organic Virgin Unrefined Coconut Oil: It’s Many Benefits

capture_2017-01-30-11-20-23-1So, yesterday I shared a link about why eating two tablespoons of coconut a day is extremely beneficial, but it has so many other benefits too. I first was introduced to organic extra virgin unrefined coconut oil from the natural hair community after I decided it was time to kiss those damaging chemicals from relaxers good bye! This was an oil on every YouTubers page of those who are natural…every page, so naturally I had to run out and get some. Not knowing at that time and being newly natural that it’s not just for hair, but has so many other benefits that’s great for health and beauty. After all we want to be healthy and look good while we’re doing it right? Here are some of the many benefits of what I like to think of it as being a miracle oil. You may know about some of it’s benefits, but some of the others may surprise you.

Weight Loss

Yes coconut out is great for weight loss and particularly around the belly area…yes that trouble are for many have. How will coconut oil help you ask? Well coconut oil contains an unique combination of fatty acids which helps to jumpstart our metabolisms. The fat that is stored in the abdominal cavity is the toughest fat to lose at time, but by adding coconut oil to your diet that you can lose that fat. Keeping in mind that coconut oil has an acquired taste, so it’s suggested that eating two tablespoons a day can kick your metabolism into gear. I the taste isn’t to your liking…at first, then start off eating one tablespoon a day and then work your way up to two.  Just remember how this can be very helpful health wise and not to mention how good you’ll good.

Hair

As I mentioned, I was introduced to coconut oil from the natural hair community. Coconut oil and it’s saturated fatty acids help with scalp health and it has strengthening abilities to the strands.  When our hair strands are stronger…the less breakage we’ll experience. Coconut oil can be heavy to some hair strands though, so find a way to use it and that will work best for your hair texture and type. I sometimes use it as a prepoo treatment (a treatment done to hair using an oil or conditioner before shampooing)…which is a way of preparing my hair for the shampoo process. Natural hair is naturally dry and shampooing can be more drying to the hair, so using a sulfate free natural shampoo is highly suggested (blog on different types of shampoos coming soon) and applying the coconut oil to damp hair for at least 30mins before shampooing adds that needed moisture to the strands. This way the shampoo won’t make your feel so stripped of moisture. Doing this should help not only with moisture, but coconut oil is a good source of vitamin E and Lauric Acid that is also good for the hair and skin. Some even use coconut oil to seal in moisture as a final step over your favorite leave-in conditioner. This way the hair stays moisturized with longer. There’s plenty of information of how and what the benefits of prepooing with coconut oil for the hair. Just make sure to use Virgin/Extra Virgin unrefined coconut oil to get it’s many benefits. Not all coconut oil is the same.

Skin Care

Yes another benefit is coconut oil can be used a moisturizer for skin and nails. This is a natural inexpensive way to moisturize your skin after washing your face and it’s natural which is a great benefit. Remember when I mentioned the Lauric Acid and Vitamin E? Well those aren’t  just good for the hair and scalp, but for the skin too. I like to use this at night (when I remember) and I sometimes alternate between this and a creamier moisturizer especially in the winter months. Also, as we get older our skin care needs change and we need that extra moisture. Also messaging the coconut oil on your cuticles is great for keeping them moisturized and it help to grow your nails. So, ladies coconut oil is almost like your new BFF!

Under Eye Puffiness/Dark Circles

This is probably something many of us struggle with and since I don’t use concealers and make-up, I want to find natural ways of keeping my skin fresh and dewy. Taking the oil and massaging it around the eye area for a couple minutes and being consistent with doing it can help to fade the dark circles. Not to mention getting a good night of 8hrs of more sleep time while help as well.

Body Moisturizer/SPF Natural Protectant

Why not??? It’s a natural way to moisturize our entire body. so, after a nice shower or whatever it is you do…smack on some coconut oil to keep your skin moisturize. It’s also good to use as SPF. Coconut oil has a SPF of 4. That’s about 45 minutes of blocking 75% of UV radiation.

Oil Pulling

Oil pulling is an ayurvedic medicinal process that has been used for years and it’s a natural way of detoxification for our mouths. The process is easy to do and extremely effective. All you have to do is take a tablespoon of virgin/extra virgin coconut oil and swish it around in your mouth for about 20 minutes, spit it out, gargle with a sea salt water rinse to make sure you’ve removed all the toxins from your  mouth (mix some 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt in a cup of tap water) and then brush your teeth as usual. Your mouth will feel very clean and you’ve removed a lot of toxins from your mouth.

I could go on and on about the many ways to uses this oil. I’ve listed a few of the ways I use it and, I thought it would be helpful to share some of its many beneficial uses. Feel free to research other ways to use coconut oil and how it may help you naturally. Keeping in mind that somethings work differently for others. Hope this reading was informative and feel free to share it. Until next time…

 

 

 

Author: HealthyTipsbyTee

Hello, My name is Tamira and I would like for you to enjoy my blog as I share healthy living tips that's working for me. As we embark upon a new date it's the perfect time to put more focus on ourselves not only for us, but for our families as well...you can't pour from an empty cup! Over the past several years, I've become extremely conscious about the products I use in all aspects of my life from which laundry detergents to buy...all the way to the nail polish I use, and what foods I consume. As you can imagine there are many things in between this broad spectrum and I would like to share all of these life changing tips with you. As you visit my blog expect to learn of natural remedies for beauty, health and house keeping tips. To me, being healthy consist of a variety of things and eating healthy is very important as well...for beauty begins on the inside, so you can definitely expect me to touch basis on that also. Now, as we start our new journey on health and wellness together I would like to take the time and pleasure of welcoming you to my blog "Healthy Tips by Tamira". This will be the perfect time to start over for a new beautiful beginning and a new you!

Leave a Reply

