Traditions: Breaking Them is OKAY…

capture_2017-01-27-19-28-17-1This could be a topic that many may not want to visit. Traditions tend to stem from how things were done long ago and then passed down from one generation to the next and so on, but does that make them right??? I look at traditions as being a way of keeping people stagnated. I mean think about it…if information changes why isn’t it okay to change how were use to doing things? We’re in an era of technology and I feel that many traditions we follow come from lack of knowing. So, yes I understand how and why certain things occurred, but what’s puzzling to me is why are traditions for many etched in stone? If over time when new information is found and can be researched and proven to be true…then that could be the perfect time to rethink how we do things.

Eating Habits

 Yes we tend to eat according to how we we’re raised…even if that’s not the healthiest way of eating. We also see and know the outcome of eating bad, but out of traditions we tend to think that it’s cultural how we do things, and not fully understanding why things were done the way they were done long ago. There’s a reason why certain cultures ate differently back then and a lot of it cames from hard times. Now, we know that the information is available today and that food choices are more plentiful, but still out of traditions we tend to make unhealthy decisions when it comes to foods…not realizing how were damaging our bodies and why there’s such a high need for medications. We are what we eat, so if you’re eating foods you believe to be traditional you could be doing you more harm trying to hold on to the past than…being healthy for the present. Learning new things is a great and with learning new things, we have to change the old ways of doing stuff…its called growth.

Celebrations

 I’m all for parties and hanging out with loved ones, but when I’m told when to do it…that’s a problem for me. Why can’t family time be whenever? To enjoy those in your life shouldn’t come from a calendar. Most people already live day to day with a planner telling them when and where to be, so then you have scheduled family time too? Meaning when the calender and seasons tell you it’s now time to get together. Life comes at as fast and time zooms by quickly, so I feel that making a big celebration out of what is assumed to be family time…due to the date then how is that a sincere way of celebrating? To me it’s like forced interactions and when you’re being made to do things, because this is how its been done for generations the fun is no longer there. Celebrate as often as you like with loved ones, but doing it based on traditions that’s passed down and that have monetary value based upon them…then in my opinion that takes the value out of family time.  Stop having a reason to enjoy time with loved ones.capture_2017-01-27-19-28-33-1

New Information

 As I mentioned we’re living in a new age and era of technology, so why are we still doing things the old way? Why are we so afraid of change and realizing there are in fact a lot of things that we’ve been taught and they were wrong! Is that your fault??? No. Wrong information has too been passed from for generations. Re-learning what’s been believed as being truth is okay to do. Nothing stays the same, so it’s puzzling to me that with knowing nothing stays the same and things change all the time…traditions seem to be exempt from the growth process. But, it shouldn’t be. Change can be scary, but think about how change can be good for growing out the old ways of doing things. Staying the same without growth is also scary. Using new information that by the way can be researched is opening our minds to learn new things. Being one sided and not willing to step out the box really isn’t living fully. We learn daily, so picking and choosing what’s believed as being truth shouldn’t be based on what we’ve been told to believe, but instead on what  we’ve taken the time to research. Old information is what keeps us in the past. Don’t be afraid of growth.

This blog topic came random to me today as I was thinking about things and,  I thought although it was random…it’s very true. Traditions keep us in my opinion from moving forward and in a comfort zone…you know a “safe place”, but when life in fact isn’t always comfortable. It’s going to shake up you at times and it should open your eyes to new things and that’s okay. Not embracing that change while we live, but not living fully will have life continue on with or without you. Being left in the dark when we’re surrounded by all this light can be a great experience…if give the chance. Stepping out of the darkness can be a beautiful thing. Until next time…

Author: HealthyTipsbyTee

Hello, My name is Tamira and I would like for you to enjoy my blog as I share healthy living tips that's working for me. As we embark upon a new date it's the perfect time to put more focus on ourselves not only for us, but for our families as well...you can't pour from an empty cup! Over the past several years, I've become extremely conscious about the products I use in all aspects of my life from which laundry detergents to buy...all the way to the nail polish I use, and what foods I consume. As you can imagine there are many things in between this broad spectrum and I would like to share all of these life changing tips with you. As you visit my blog expect to learn of natural remedies for beauty, health and house keeping tips. To me, being healthy consist of a variety of things and eating healthy is very important as well...for beauty begins on the inside, so you can definitely expect me to touch basis on that also. Now, as we start our new journey on health and wellness together I would like to take the time and pleasure of welcoming you to my blog "Healthy Tips by Tamira". This will be the perfect time to start over for a new beautiful beginning and a new you!

Leave a Reply

