To Mask or Not to Mask? A Natural Way to Clear Skin

capture_2017-01-18-14-59-01-1It’s been a while since I’ve used a deep cleansing facial mask and today, I pampered my skin. I treated my skin to a much need at home facial using the Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Hydrating Mask. Normally I shy away from facial mask…products in general that are hydrating to the skin, because I typically have oily skin and my point in using a facial mask is to absorb as much of the oil and to detox my skin as possible. It’s been a while since I’ve taken the time to treat my skin, so after picking this up in my local CVS drugstore a couple weeks ago, I finally used it. Surprisingly it was gentle to my somewhat sensitive type skin and my skin felt clean…despite it being a hydrating mask. My skin looked and felt bright and refreshed. There was no tightness after I rinsed it off and that’s probably due to the hydrating benefits of the shea butter, but the deep pore cleaning benefits was what I looking for and it delivered.

I think what caught my attention about this particular mask were the ingredients. Shea Moisture is known for their natural and organic ingredients for their hair and body care, so aside from that I felt it’s a brand that uses ingredients that I can pronounce and, I’m aware of the benefits. The moisturizing aspect of the mask I feel was the raw shea butter. Now, normally shea butter and the Shea Moisture hair care line…I stay away from. I feel that shea butter is too heavy for my hair texture. I’ve tried to use a few of their hair care lines and still, I get the same results heavy weighed down hair. So, I had to make a decision not to be team shea moisture for the hair care, but the skin and body care line I like! Two other great ingredients that caught my eyes were the kaolin and bentonite clays. These two are great for pulling out impurities and detoxing the skin. Then there are other ingredients I recognize like jojoba oil, vitamin e and chamomile just to name a few. My skin feels refreshed, clean and moisturized.

I would always suggest knowing what your body needs. Knowing your skin type and care needs will make it easier to select the right type of products for your needs. Again, because I am aware of the benefits of the two clays,  I based my decision to buy this product from my research. I’ve always wanted to try kaolin clay, but wasn’t sure how my skin would react. I have used bentonite clay in the past and that’s what, I was using for a deep down cleaning mask when my skin needed that…however my skin started to react differently to it. It could have been the way I mixed the product with the apple cider vinger, but the Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Hydrating Mask is the perfect blend!

Remember it’s nice sit down and to take time out for ourselves occasionally, so don’t forget to have that me time. Having “spa day” at home can be very relaxing while you’re in the comfort of your own home. Also, there are several DIY mask that you can do using ingredients right from your kitchen cabinet. In some of my coming blogs I will add some DIY mask recipes for hair and skin. Hope this blog was helpful and be sure to research the other mud masks by Shea Moisture as well. Until next time…

Author: HealthyTipsbyTee

Hello, My name is Tamira and I would like for you to enjoy my blog as I share healthy living tips that's working for me. As we embark upon a new date it's the perfect time to put more focus on ourselves not only for us, but for our families as well...you can't pour from an empty cup! Over the past several years, I've become extremely conscious about the products I use in all aspects of my life from which laundry detergents to buy...all the way to the nail polish I use, and what foods I consume. As you can imagine there are many things in between this broad spectrum and I would like to share all of these life changing tips with you. As you visit my blog expect to learn of natural remedies for beauty, health and house keeping tips. To me, being healthy consist of a variety of things and eating healthy is very important as well...for beauty begins on the inside, so you can definitely expect me to touch basis on that also. Now, as we start our new journey on health and wellness together I would like to take the time and pleasure of welcoming you to my blog "Healthy Tips by Tamira". This will be the perfect time to start over for a new beautiful beginning and a new you!

Leave a Reply

