Healthy Natural Hair Products…

capture_2017-01-10-22-27-37-1There are several brands on the market that are designed for natural hair care, but are they healthy??? This is why reading the labels of products are very important. There are many products that claim to be “natural” or for “natural hair”, but after reading the labels many will be surprised to learn that no all “natural hair products” are created equally. I have had the pleasure of trying some really good brands that are natural and my hair loves them. I’ve also had the bad experiences of buying from brands that put all the right wording on the label, but then their product does the opposite. So, here are some tips for natural hair products …the do’s and don’t’s of buying hair products as I call them. After all no one wants to waste their hard earned money on products that just don’t work!

To buy products without being wasteful…buy products that’s designed for your hair type. Remember that not all products work for everyone, so knowing this means what works for your favorite vlogger simply may not work for you. Ingredients should always be a factor when looking for natural products. silicones, parabens, propylene glycol, and sulfates are just a few ingredients that aren’t considered natural ingredients, but often time they are on the labels of natural products, or what consumers believe to be natural. If you can’t pronounce the ingredients then it’s probably not worth buying. Hair responds definitely for certain products based on your hair’s porosity. Porosity is how well your hair absorbs water.

Hair can either be high, or low in porosity and now there are products on the market that are designed for both types. (Shea Moisture has a hair care line specifically for both high and low porosity hair) Here’s a way to tell your hair’s porosity…take a glass and fill it with water using clean hair strands place them in the water. Then watch to see if the strands sink or float…if your hair sinks right away it’s high porosity and if it floats that means you have low porosity hair and it’s hard for moisture to enter your hair strands. These are two key points, because if you realize what your hair needs the better products will work for you.

Try to experiment with products, but not to become a product junkie is very important. It can be very costly and remember that many brands will claim to do many things, but they might not work. So, when you finally come up with a regimen try your best to stick with it and to keep it simple. Life can be complicated enough right??? Here’s what’s simple to me a clean scalp is the first step to healthy hair, next a moisturizing/protein deep conditioner should follow after cleansing your hair and then a moisturizing creme leave in to finish up should be key. In the winter months a creme based leave in is more hydrating and in the summer spray leave in conditioners followed with a styling product is ideal to keep hair light in hot weather. Some like to follow their leave in conditioners with oils and butter, but remembering what your hair needs sometimes too many layers of products might do more harm than good. You don’t want to block moisture from getting into those strands! Pay attention to what your hair likes and dislikes.

I could list different brands of products from As I Am to Carmella Marie, but until an individual has truly listened to their hair all products will be a mystery if you don’t know what to look for. So, I only write from my experiences and share what I’ve learned and found to be helpful to me on my journey. Research the researcher is what I was taught while in undergrad and grad school and, I would say don’t be afraid to research anything that’s foreign to you. I hope you find tips these to be helpful and feel free to share what you’ve learned about caring for your hair naturally. Until next time…

Author: HealthyTipsbyTee

Hello, My name is Tamira and I would like for you to enjoy my blog as I share healthy living tips that's working for me. As we embark upon a new date it's the perfect time to put more focus on ourselves not only for us, but for our families as well...you can't pour from an empty cup! Over the past several years, I've become extremely conscious about the products I use in all aspects of my life from which laundry detergents to buy...all the way to the nail polish I use, and what foods I consume. As you can imagine there are many things in between this broad spectrum and I would like to share all of these life changing tips with you. As you visit my blog expect to learn of natural remedies for beauty, health and house keeping tips. To me, being healthy consist of a variety of things and eating healthy is very important as well...for beauty begins on the inside, so you can definitely expect me to touch basis on that also. Now, as we start our new journey on health and wellness together I would like to take the time and pleasure of welcoming you to my blog "Healthy Tips by Tamira". This will be the perfect time to start over for a new beautiful beginning and a new you!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Natural Hair Products…”

Leave a Reply

